Rock those socks… och sedan?

It’s finally Down’s Syndrome Awareness Day 2017! I’m not very fond of awareness events myself. Personally, I believe that if you want to be an ally, there’s much more you can and should do than just rocking those socks. Awareness is only a first step towards understanding and acceptance, which is why I’ve spent much of the day reading stories by people with Down’s Syndrome themselves. I have also collected a few links I’d like to share where people with Down’s Syndrome take centre stage. If you think there’s a site I’m missing, please comment and I’ll add it. I also feel uncomfortable using person first language, but I can’t find any information of identity first language (other than parent/professional organisations decrying it) when it comes to Down’s Syndrome. Does anyone know?

I dag är det den internationella Downs Syndrom dagen 2017! Jag är själv inte så positivt inställd till awareness event. Som ally tycker jag att man kan och bör göra mycket mer än att bara rocka sockorna. Awareness, eller medvetenhet är bara ett första steg mot förståelse och acceptans. Därför har jag spenderat delar av dagen till att läsa personer med Downs syndroms egna berättelser. Jag har också samlat ihop några länkar där personer med Downs syndrom är i centrum. Om någon vet några bra sidor jag inte har med, kommentera gärna så lägger jag till dem. Jag tycker heller inte om att använda personen först-språk, men jag kan inte hitta någon information när det gäller identiteten först . Är det någon som vet?

Links in English:

World Down Syndrome Day – My Voice Counts

Glada Hudik teatern in English

Länkar på svenska:

Ikoner

Glada Hudik teatern

 

 

 

 

En reaktion på ”Rock those socks… och sedan?

  1. Ping: Kickoff: Autism aware… no, acceptance | Asymmetra

Kommentera

